whoami

·

2 min read

Hello, world!

I'm Jin, a 33 year old former teacher in Japan. They/them, lover of sharks and snakes, writer of novel-length original fiction, racer of roadbikes, and very recently went from no time for any of the things to all the time for all the things which, curiously, is just as good at keeping anything from getting done.

Anyway! Why am I here? Well, a lot has changed in my life recently. I feel 2020 has been that way for a lot of people. But for me specifically, these happenings led to me programming. First HTML and CSS to build a website from scratch for my students to access material to study with during the school closings, to realizing that wow I love programming and that being amplified by my discovery of Python. From there, with some not-so-subtle nudgings from a friend in infosec, I'm currently studying ethical hacking and pentesting with an aim to make a career out of it. This blog will mostly be for recording that journey, starting with the PentesterLab Pro content and the TryHackMe's Advent of Cyber. Feel free to follow along on my journey and maybe we can learn a thing or two together!

So that's me and that's what I'm about. Looking forward to really sinking my teeth into this new passion~